AP North Andhra MLA Karanam Dharmasri resigns as MLA to support 3 capital plan

staff Reporter

Karanam Dharmasri, an MLA in Andhra Pradesh from the Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP) resigned from his post on Friday. In the resignation letter sent to the Assembly Speaker, he said he is resigning "to support the 3 capitals, which was opposed by the Telugu Desam Party (TDP)". 

 His letter also added, "I am consciously submitting my resignation to support the establishment of the executive capital at Visakhapatnam."

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy had introduced the concept in December 2019 and the Andhra Pradesh Decentralisation and Inclusive Development of All Regions Bill was brought in 2020. 

According to the bill, Andhra Pradesh will have three capitals — the executive capital in Visakhapatnam, the legislative capital in Amaravati and the judicial capital in Kurnool.

However, the idea was opposed by the TDP, which wanted Amravati as the sole capital in the state and the Jagan Mohan Reddy government repealed the bill in November 2021

Related Posts

You can share this post!