Fate of KCR ,Revanth Reddy, Band, Azarudin will declare on Dec 3


The Elections in Telangana are scheduled for November 30 where a three-way competition is anticipated among Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and Indian National Congress throughout the state. Early indicators suggest a notable change in Telangana's political landscape with Congress presenting a formidable challenge to the reigning Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS). Despite BRS's confidence in achieving a third consecutive term in the state it had governed since its inception, the ABP News C-Voter Survey suggested that the Congress party was likely to make substantial advancements in both votes and seats indicating a significant challenge for the ruling party.

In this context, scrutiny of the performances of standout candidates becomes paramount. The triumph of these notable contenders serves as a pivotal factor in determining the visage of the state's Chief Minister.

ABP Live brings you the key candidates to watch out for in the Telangana election 2023.

K Chandrasekhar Rao (KCR), BRS — Kamareddy, Gajwel

Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao, the Chief Minister of Telangana and founder of Telangana Rashtra Samithi, a state party in India, played a pivotal role in the Telangana movement, advocating for statehood. On October 5, 2022, the day of Vijayadashami, KCR renamed his party to Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) during the party's Executive Council Meeting.

Known by his initials 'KCR', the 69-year-old politician assumed office as CM in 2014 and secured re-election in 2018.

Now, Rao is aiming for a hat-trick in the upcoming elections and is set to contest from two constituencies, Kamareddy and Gajwel, where Congress and BJP have fielded strong candidates, respectively.

Along with KCR, his son K. T. Rama Rao and daughter Kavitha are also active in politics.

Kalvakuntla Taraka Rama Rao (KTR), BRS — Sircilla

Born on July 24, 1976, Kalvakuntla Taraka Rama Rao, commonly known as KTR, holds the position of Minister for Municipal Administration and Urban Development, Industries and Commerce, and Information Technology, Electronics, and Communications in Telangana. Currently representing the Sircilla constituency, he is set to seek re-election from the same constituency.

The son of KCR, KTR was also actively involved in the separate statehood movement for Telangana.

Anumula Revanth Reddy, Congress — Kamareddy, Kodangal

Anumula Revanth Reddy is a Member of Parliament (MP) in the Lok Sabha, representing the Malkajgiri constituency for the Indian National Congress. With two terms as an MLA and one as an MLC, Reddy has an extensive political background.

In October 2017, he parted ways with the TDP and aligned himself with the Congress. His political journey led to his appointment as the president of the Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee in June 2021.

For the upcoming 2023 elections, Revanth Reddy is slated for a head-to-head contest with KCR in Kamareddy. Additionally, he will be contesting from the Kodangal constituency. 

Mohammed Azharuddin, Congress — Jubilee Hills

Former cricketer turned politician Mohammad Azharuddin is poised to run for the Congress in the November 30 polls from the Jubilee Hills constituency.

However, Azharuddin has recently faced controversy with four cases registered against him for alleged misappropriation of funds during his tenure as the president of the Hyderabad Cricket Association (HCA).

Mynampally Hanumatha Rao, Congress — Malkajgiri

Mynampally Hanumanth Rao, who resigned from Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) due to dissatisfaction over ticket distribution and joined the Indian National Congress on September 29, 2023, is poised to contest from the Malkajgiri seat.

His son Mynampally Rohit Rao, who was denied a ticket in BRS, is also set to contest from Medak. 

Bandi Sanjay, BJP — Karimnagar

Bandi Sanjay Kumar is an Indian politician serving as a Member of the Lok Sabha, representing the Karimnagar constituency since 2019. He previously held the position of the state president of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Telangana, serving from March 11, 2020, to July 4, 2023.

He is set to contest in Karimnagar for BJP. He is going to contest against Gangula Kamalakar from BRS and Purumalla Srinivas from Congress.

Eatala Rajender, BJP — Huzurabad, Gajwel

Etela Rajender served as the first Finance Minister of Telangana state from 2014 to 2018 and subsequently as the Health Minister from 2019 to 2021. Following allegations of land encroachment, Etela Rajender was subsequently removed from his ministerial portfolio and dismissed from the state cabinet. In 2021, upon leaving TRS (now BRS), he joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and was re-elected as an MLA in the by-election.

Having represented Huzurabad since 2010, he is also slated to run for the Huzurabad constituency in the upcoming election. Interestingly, Etela Rajender is also set to contest against his former party supremo, KCR, in Gajwel.

T Raja Singh, BJP — Goshamahal

Commencing his political journey with the Telugu Desam Party, T Raja Singh later shifted allegiance to the Bharatiya Janata Party in 2014. He remained with the BJP until 23 August 2022, when he faced suspension due to 2022 Muhammad remarks controversy.

Notably, on 22 October 2023, his suspension was lifted. During his tenure, Singh held the position of BJP party whip for the state of Telangana. Raja Singh is set to contest from Goshamahal, which is considered as the stronghold of BJP.

Related Posts

You can share this post!