New team for State Committee of The Institution of Engineers India A P : HSProf M.L.S.Deva Kumar

Staff Reporter

The Annual General Meeting of the Institution of Engineers (India), Andhra Pradesh State Centre, was held on 30th April, 2023 at Dr. K.L. RaoBhavan, Vijayawada. The meeting was chaired by Dr. C.V. Sriram FIE and organized by Prof. (Dr) M.L.S. Deva Kumar FIE, Honorary Secretary of the Andhra Pradesh State Centre. The event was graced by Prof. K. Hemachandra Reddy FIE, Immediate Past Chairman.

The meeting began with Chairman Dr. C.V. Sriram FIE welcoming all the members and paying tributes to the members who passed away in the past session. Honorary Secretary Prof. (Dr) M.L.S. Deva Kumar FIE presented the details of the activities of the Institution from 2019 till date, which covered various statutory days, endowment lectures, various technical talks, presenting annual account statements pertaining to FY 2021-22, and fixing the auditor for the next session.

Mr Sriram said that, The Institution of Engineers (India) is a professional organization that was established in 1920 to promote and advance the engineering profession in India.The Institution of Engineers (India) [IEI] is the largest multi-disciplinary professional body of engineers, established in 1920 with its Headquarters located in Kolkata and incorporated under Royal Charter on 9th September, 1935 by the then His Majesty of King George V. The Royal Charter endowed the Institution with the responsibility to promote the general advancement of engineering amongst its members and persons attached to the Institution. After Independence, the Institution is a “Body Corporate” protected under Article 372 of the Constitution of India.


While speaking, Prof K.Hemachandra Reddy outgoing Chairman said, The Institution has been serving the engineering fraternity for over a Century with its national and international presence through 125 Centres spread all over India, 6 Overseas Chapters, 7 Fora and an Organ namely Engineering Staff College of India (ESCI), Hyderabad. The Institution encompasses 15 (fifteen) engineering disciplines with a Corporate membership of over 2 lakhs.

IEI has been recognized as Scientific and Industrial Research Organization (SIRO) by the Ministry of Science & Technology, Govt. of India and besides conducting its own research, provides Grant-in-Aid to UG/PG/ PhD students of Engineering Institutes & Universities.

The Institution of Engineers (India) is the first professional body to represent India in several International Bodies, such as the World Mining Congress (WMC), the World Federation of Engineering Organizations (WFEO), the Commonwealth Engineers’ Council (CEC), the Federation International du Beton (fib), and the Federation of Engineering Institutions of South and Central Asia (FEISCA). It also has bilateral agreements with a number of professional societies across the globe.

IEI holds the International Professional Engineers (IntPE) Register for India under the global International Professional Engineers Alliance (IntPEA). The Institution also awards the Professional Engineers (PE) Certification.

The Institution has produced huge number of Engineering graduates in India through AMIE degree and are served the nation in various engineering divisions.

The Andhra Pradesh State Centre of the Institution of Engineers (India) has been actively working towards this goal by organizing various events and programs to promote technical education, research, and innovation.

The Annual General Meeting placed on record a big thanks to outgoing Chairman Prof. K. Hemachandra Reddy Chairman, APSCHE for rendering excellent leadership. The meeting congratulated Dr. C.V. Sriram for taking charge as Chairman and Prof. (Dr) M.L.S. Deva Kumar as Honorary Secretary for the remaining period of session 2022-24, along with other state committee members from various divisions, viz.,

  • Dr. C Sashidhar (F-1169994)
  • Er J V NarsimhaRaju (M-1101285)
  • Er D Ramesh Kumar (M-1263840) – From Civil EnggDiv;
  • Dr A V NareshBabu (F-1254339)
  • ErSatya S Prasad Raju K (M-1528631) – From Electrical EnggDiv;
  • Prof Uday Kumar Nadakudru (F-1207810)
  • Er K N S PrakashRao (F-1184276)
  • Er K Ramesh Reddy (F-1217654)
  • Er P RavindraBabu (F-1115487) – From Mechanical EnggDiv;
  • Prof P Venkateshwar (F-1219029) – From Chemical EnggDiv;
  • Prof (Dr) M BabuRao (F-1247685) – From Computer EnggDiv;
  • Er Syed DastagiriAbdal (AM1721065) – From Mining EnggDiv;
  • Er S Bala Prasad (M-1295203) – From Environmental EnggDiv;
  • Dr JastiSudhir Kumar (F-1130931) – From Production EnggDiv;
  • Dr K Ravi (F-1064491) – From Metallurgical & Materials EnggDiv;

The Annual General Meeting was an important event that provided a platform for the members to discuss and deliberate on the key issues and challenges facing the engineering profession in the state. The meeting reviewed the Centre's activities over the past year and charted out a roadmap for the future. Various senior members of IEI attended.  Prof.(Dr) M.L.S.Deva Kumar presented vote of thanks

Related Posts

You can share this post!